National Aeronca Association Bulletin Board

A discussion group for all Aeronca owners and fans
It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 07:29

All times are UTC - 7 hours

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 22:48 

I am a non pilot and I have just made an offer on a chief 11cc 0-200 and I have heard that there are several tailwheels that can be put on to improve ground handling. First of all can someone explain the difference between having tension springs vs compression springs (which I heard are better) on the tailwheel. What is the advantage and cost of a scott tailwheel. (I saw a 3200 on e-bay today) I also heard about an Alaska wheel. Does anyone have experience with this? Thanks in advance for your advice. I start ground school tomorrow. Cannot wait to get my Chief and learn to fly.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 00:56 

Hi Mark,

Compression springs will make the rudder pedals firmer when taxing, Tension springs will make the pedals a little softer. It really doesn't matter which you use, they both handle the same. I preffer tension springs because they're the standard on most applications, and I like a lighter, softer pedal.

Scott 3200 T/W's are nice because they are darn near bullet proof. Further, they've got a pneumatic tire which rides MUCH better than a solid rubber style. Plus you can adjust the tail wheel locking tention. In other words, you can have it break into a full swivel really easy or just the opposite; it doesn't break at all. They do have 2 downsides: cost and weight. Even used ones are running $600-800 US, and they are around 2-3lbs heavier than the smaller solid rubber versions.

Alaska Bush Wheels ( http://www.akbushwheel.com/ ) has made a clone of the Scott 3200. It is a high quality product, if not better than, and I would use it in place of a Scott 3200. Plus they're only $1000, new, compaired to $2600 new (Scott).

Have fun.

nkh

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 06:19 
Site Admin

Mark,