Intercom installation

Radios, intercoms, headsets and GPS systems
Post Reply
jkvincent
Posts: 476
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 22:34
Location: Houston, Tx
Contact:

Intercom installation

Post by jkvincent » Wed Jan 14, 2009 18:20

I'd like to permanently install a Sigtronics SPA400 (TSO'd) intercom in my Champ which has an electrical system.

Would this be just a Log Book entry or a (God forbid) Field Approval?
Jim

User avatar
joea
Site Admin
Posts: 6052
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 13:01
Location: Phoenix Arizona
Contact:

Post by joea » Wed Jan 14, 2009 19:08

If its really installed in the airplane then believe that it would require approval.

Mount it with Velcro and run a power cable up to the intercom with a plug in connection. That way its not mounted full time in the plane and no paperwork at all needed.

Jimmy Payne
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 09:18
Location: Newnan, GA
Contact:

Post by Jimmy Payne » Wed Jan 14, 2009 21:45

Jim,
Everything I have found shows it to be a minor alteration. I have installed them using the manufactures instructions and 43.13 as a guide. The aircraft equipment list and weight and balance will need to be updated and the electrical load computed.
Jimmy Payne

BILL SEE
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 13:39
Location: Chapman Field Centerburg OH71
Contact:

Post by BILL SEE » Mon May 25, 2009 12:08

If your Champ has a legal electric system, it just takes a 337 by the AP/IA or the avionics shop....whomever installed it! NBD! The velcro approach works too!

Post Reply