Mode C Transponder

Aircraft electrical systems. Generators, both engine and wind driven. Other electrical systems, wiring, fuses, lighting and so on.
7AC-JC

Mode C Transponder

Post by 7AC-JC » Thu Jun 03, 2010 13:03

I'm a student pilot anticipate closing on a 7AC in the near future and had a few questions.
(My check ride will not be in this aircraft.)

It is equipped with a rechargeable battery that powers a handheld radio with external antenna.

Since the aircraft does not have electric, is it safe to say, it will not require a Mode C transponder?

Do any of you have one installed, any how?

If so, what type and how did you install it?

If you do not have one, is there anything particular needed when entering Class D or Class C?

Without a Mode C transponder will I ever be able to establish Flight Following?

Finally, how difficult is it to install one? Would they draw a lot off the rechargeable battery?

Thanks for the help.

-JC

james gevay

Re: Mode C Transponder

Post by james gevay » Thu Jun 03, 2010 15:56

Please look up 91.215 -3 and you will see that they are NOT required in the Mode C veil, Class A, B and C is different of course.

(3) Notwithstanding paragraph (b)(2) of this section, any aircraft which was not originally certificated with an engine-driven electrical system or which has not subsequently been certified with such a system installed, balloon or glider may conduct operations in the airspace within 30 nautical miles of an airport listed in appendix D, section 1 of this part provided such operations are conducted—

(i) Outside any Class A, Class B, or Class C airspace area; and

Do not get confused and think the Mode C veil is the same as Class B, they are not they are only associated with each other and have different rules.

Thats one of the the things that many pilots after 911 were confused about, the difference between Class B and Enhanced Class B, two totally different airspaces with different rules.