Wheel Landings

Aeronca Sedan Airplanes
Muskokabob

Wheel Landings

Post by Muskokabob » Mon Nov 15, 2010 10:29

Just getting back into the saddle with my Sedan on wheels, and wanted to get comments from the Sedan owners on how they preferred to land, wheels or 3 point?

joea
Site Admin

Re: Wheel Landings

Post by joea » Mon Nov 15, 2010 17:43

Please share your way of doing wheel landings. I am still three pointing and very happy with it but at times feel the need to do otherwise.

Joe

Nathan K. Hammond

Post by Nathan K. Hammond » Mon Nov 15, 2010 22:33

Push the wheel forward. :wink:

nkh
7AC-5691
Super 85-12F @ DVK

Griphos

Post by Griphos » Mon Nov 15, 2010 23:04

Well, I'm still a tailwheel novice, so take this as such. I haven't wheel landed in the Chief much, but when I was flying the Champ that I did my tailwheel training in, I found the wheel landings much easier to do (and actually quite fun) when I came in a little hotter. I'm not sure whether the extra speed gave better control during the flare or what, but it was just easier to level right above the runway and let her bleed speed and settle to the ground. If the settling was slow, and it usually was, then very little forward pressure was necessary to pin her. Of course, I was running along the ground at better than rotation speed this way, but so much air on the rudder also made for better control keeping her straight. I kept the tail up with increasing forward pressure until the pressure got fairly strong, and then, rather than hold her up as long as possible, let her settle (much below rotation speed now) gently so I could use tailwheel steering. I used about twice as much runway this way, but then didn't need very much to start with, so never really used more than half of the 3000 ft at that field.