Looking for Aeronca 7AC

Just want to say "Hi"? You can do it here.
pgreenwood

Looking for Aeronca 7AC

Post by pgreenwood »

Greetings!

I'm a wannabe pilot, son of a WWII veteran who secured his private license via the GI Bill.

My dad, Eldon Greenwood (1919-1998) of Farley, Iowa, owned a 7AC from about 1952 until about 1962.

I cannot locate any photos or papers. I would settle for the N-Number. I've searched the FAA database and discussed with FAA personnel. I took a stab in the dark and ordered up the records on one plane, but that was not it. While dad owned the plane it was used solely VFR for recreation. No towing or special use. I recall it was painted all red when I last saw it. I guess without an N-number or serial number I won't be able to track that plane. I know someone who is interested in purchasing it if I could find it.

If you find from your records that you own or know the whereabouts of this plane please drop me a line, even if you aren't interested in selling it.

Keep the shiny-side up and thank you!
joea
Site Admin

Re: Looking for Aeronca 7AC

Post by joea »

Boy, without any more data, this is going to be a tough one!

Any chance there might be something in your Fathers paperwork? My Father passed a while (20 or so years ago) and left me his logbooks. I ended up looking up his old airplanes that he flew and was really surprised that most of them were still registered. For planes that he flew in the 1930-1940's thats surprising.

My Father grew up in the Manson/Ft. Dodge area and did some of his flying in the Shenandoah part of Iowa. Was your Father living in any one place during this time? If yes, how about going to the FBO at the airport and seeing if they have any information? An old photo on the wall or such would help.

If you can come up with ANY more data that would sure help.

Joe A
pgreenwood

Post by pgreenwood »